18
Mar
09

Head-Gear

headbands1headbands21Old bandana. Urban Outfitters headbands. Stacey Lapidus.

I confess. I used to wear that awful head-gear. Yes, if a mental image of Joan Cusack in Sixteen Candles popped up, then ding, that was me. If you saw what I was working with back in elementary school, you’d understand the need for braces, rubber bands (on my braces) and the terrible head-gear (only at night).

But I digress. I’m talking about the head-gear that’s in style today. The kind that you actually want to wear. I’m a fan of dressing up the head every now and then, esp. because I’m so uber low maintenance with my daily hairstyle. Even though my hair is long, I never brush it (except when I get this huge nasty knot in the back) or use a blow dryer. Hence, head-gear is a great accessory for me, esp. when I want to look acceptable with not-so fresh hair.

house-of-harlow-1960Images via Singer22.com, ShopKitson.com

If I had the funds, I’d definitely get Nicole Richie’s House of Harlow 1960 headpieces. The Gold Bead Five Strand Head Piece (first pic) is a steal at $170, compared to the Gold Seven Strand Headband at $395.  It’s a gorg piece, but I’d rather get a handbag over a headband for that cost.  The most I’ve spent on a hair accessory is $100 for my Stacey Lapidus single braided silk headband with crystals, which I love (pictured at top).

headband-choicesImages via FreePeople.com, UrbanOutfitters.com

Currently on my radar is this Brass Arrows Headband from Free People ($38).  The Urban Oufitters Leaf Headband also caught my eye, and for $18, I’ll probably purchase this.  It comes in several colors, but I’m leaning toward the black for versatility.  The green has already sold out, so people are snatching these up.

headband-choices2Images via Tobi.com, Forever21.com

In theory, I like this Gabriela Artigas Vintage Bow Headband ($86), but with my oily forehead, this dainty chain would probably not stay on the forehead for too long.  The Forever 21 twin flower headband is laughable alone; try putting a head between those flower earmuffs, and you’re bound to get some raised eyebrows wearing them in public.  Just say NO.

2 Responses to “Head-Gear”


  1. 1 jenny
    March 19, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    luv ur stacy lapid i ooo headband. can i borrow it?

  2. March 9, 2010 at 3:20 am

    I like the leaf headband, so pretty!


Leave a Reply

About Style with Benefits

Photobucket
Photobucket

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Memories

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
©2009 - 2010 Style with Benefits. All rights reserved. Personal pictures may be used, but permission must be granted first. Please email stylewithbenefits@gmail.com and credit this site. Thank you.
wordpress visitor counter

