29
Jun
09

My Favorite Things

Chicisimo

I know a number of you have been featured on Chicisimo, but I wanted to thank the lovely Maria for recently choosing and posting some of my looks on her site.  Maria also just launched Chicisimo Brides, providing fab inspiration pics for wedding dresses.  I’ve discovered some amazing new blogs from Chicisimo, so check her sites out!

Another thank you goes to the always complimentary Antoine of florilège d’esthète for passing along the One Lovely Blog Award.  He has an incredible way with words, making his writing and descriptions unparallel to anyone else.  Antoine, thanks for making me blush with your kind words…

Becs, Epitomesque “BOMBnextDoor” who Really knows How to make blow a dazzling/electrifying “Wind of Sexy Freshness” from L Aaaaaaaaaaaaa !!!!

And finally, the always hip and incredibly sweet Eden from Chic in the Tropics tagged me for a list of my 20 favorite things…

1.  COLOR – Red and black are my college colors, so I’ll always be a fan of those.  I’m also partial to blue.

2.  DESSERT – I’m actually not a big dessert or cake person, even though I have a sweet tooth for candy.  I don’t think I’ve ever had actual cake on my birthday… always ice cream cakes.  In fact, here’s my little Carvel ice cream cake I just had last week.

Birthday ice cream cake

3.  SMELL – I dig fruity scents like coconut and strawberry.  I also like vanilla.  My perfume at the moment is Versace Bright Crystal.

4.  FLOWER – Orchids and sunflowers

5.  ANIMAL – I love monkeys!  Whenever I go to the zoo, I love to watch them swing around.

MonkeysSan Diego Zoo

6.  MONTH – June because it’s my birthday and the start of summer

7.  BEVERAGE – My daily beverages include lots of water and Nestea.

8.  SHOES – Favorite shoes that I own are my Jeffrey Campbell Biz Belted Booties.  Shoe crushes are the Alexander Wang “Hanne” Triple Buckle Boots and Balmain Multi-zip Suede Boots.

Jeffrey Campbell Biz Belted BootiesJeffrey Campbell Biz Belted Booties now availabe in black and taupe at Urban Outfitters

Alexander Wang Hanne Triple Buckle Boots

Alexander Wang “Hanne” Triple Buckle Boots


Balmain Multi-Zip Suede BootsBalmain Multi-zip Suede Boots

9.  SNACK – If I want something sweet, I’ll eat Skittles or Sour Patch Kids.  If I’m craving something salty, which is usually the case, I’ll opt for popcorn or Kettle potato chips.

10.  SONG/S – Yea, I have too many favs, but I’ll always love “Sway” by The Perishers, “With or Without You” by U2 and “Friday I’m in Love” by The Cure.  And no matter how many times they’ve been overplayed on the radio, I still dig “Just Dance” by Lady Gaga and “Live Your Life” by T.I. and Rhianna.

11.  BOOKWhere the Wild Things Are (can’t wait for the movie!)

12.  FRUIT – Pineapple and mandarin oranges

13.  HAIRSTYLE – Honestly on a daily basis I don’t do anything with my hair.  I let it air dry after washing it and I’ll fess up that I don’t even brush my hair… until it gets too knotty to stand, and then I’ll whip out my brush.  The most I do with my hair is twist it into a tight bun if I want to add some waves.  On occasion, I do like to throw on a headband every now and then.

UO headband

14.  PIECE/S OF CLOTHING – Skinny jeans, leather jackets, oversized blazers, corset tops and men’s plaid shirts (like the Stapleford Buffalo Work shirt via Urban Outfitters below) .

Stapleford Buffalo Work shirt

15.  STORES TO SHOP – Since my mall trips have steadily declined, my fav online shops are Topshop, Urban Outfitters, Nasty Gal Vintage, Shopbop, Oaknyc and RevolveClothing.

16.  SEASON – Summer lovin’

17.  HOBBY – Dancing, following college basketball, dreaming up ideas for my future screenplay, watching bad reality TV, discovering new music bands or artists and of course shopping and flea marketing.

18.  THINGS TO COLLECT – Quotes.  I have an ever growing collection full of movie/TV, song, life, friendship and love quotes.

19.  MOVIE – Oh I could never just pick one, so off the top of my head, my favs are Goonies, Sixteen Candles, Dirty Dancing, The Rock, The Notebook, The Devil Wears Prada, 27 Dresses, The Hangover and I Love you, Man.

20.  RESTAURANT – Any Italian restaurant.  I could eat pasta everyday!

To keep this circulating, I’m tagging:

Shin from Fashion Cappuccino

Libby from FASHIONconfectionairy

Joelyne from the sydney girl

Ash Fox from Tit Tees

Carolina from The Clothist

Sylvia from Chaotic Cookie

Hope you all had an amazing weekend!  The June Gloom has passed and we are now enjoying the sunny LA weather again.  Yesterday, I saw “My Sister’s Keeper” and cried my eyes out.  OK, maybe I didn’t ball, but the tears were flowing every 5 min. or so.  If you like beautiful slow songs, then check out a sampling of the soundtrack.
58 Responses to “My Favorite Things”


  1. June 29, 2009 at 7:10 am

    Loving that blue jacket! xx

  2. June 29, 2009 at 7:22 am

    loving the lowdown on your fave things.
    i like the cake!
    muah x
    marian

  3. June 29, 2009 at 9:12 am

    Such great fave things, thank you for sharing with us.
    It’s always so nice to know more about a fellow blogger and moreover gorgeous like you.

    Luv

    xoxo

  4. June 29, 2009 at 9:20 am

    i loved all your answers!!! we have the same taste in smell, candy, ice cream cake, and the hair routine. i really hate brushing my hair. it’s such a chore! but damn the knots. ok anyway im going to check out your perfume, i’m so sick of YSL’s baby doll!
    xx

  5. June 29, 2009 at 9:34 am

    youhave great style!

    i always like that you arent afriand to try some stuff that otheres dont wear .. if i sawyou i wudd def. stop and stare .. ina good way tho .
    im not hater

    love u<3

    yeah cake has to be delish for me to eat it

  6. June 29, 2009 at 10:16 am

    Congratulations on the awards, the press mention and thanks for posting your wonderful list of favorite things! 😀 Love learning about my favorite bloggers!

  7. June 29, 2009 at 10:37 am

    Ugh those Wang boots are gorgeous *sigh*

    P.S. I dislike cake too unless it is an ice-cream cake. Cupcakes are much better =)

  8. June 29, 2009 at 11:50 am

    I love reading your favorite things and thank you for tagging me!! I don’t comb my hair either unless I absolutely have to. I think that’s because girls with straight hair have easier time getting away with messy hair. The picture of you sitting down with those pink shorts and blue jacket is amazing! xxoxoxoxooxxo

  9. June 29, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    ps: Oooooh You’re Welcome Dear !!! This article (which makes blush the “shy/self proclaimed esthete” I am) perfectly illustrates my so deserved Words . . .
    Hope you’re Well too !!!

    à Bientôt, Antoine

  10. June 29, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    love that black n white dress!

  11. June 29, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    thanks so much sweetie! as soon as I have some time I’ll post the answers in my blog! big kiss 🙂 xxx

  12. June 29, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    yay! congrats on the feautre, and what a yummy cake! loved reading through your answers, you’re awesome;)

    xx raez

  13. June 29, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    Congratulations on the feature!! Yuuum at ice cream cake 🙂 Aww haha and monkeys are my favourite type of animal by far. Ooh and those Alexander Wang boots are amazing!! I really am into fruity scents, I am on a serious vanilla binge at the moment fragrance wise. Oh, and My Sisters Keeper seriously had me crying in the cinema, I ran of tissues!

  14. June 29, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    love the black outfit! lovely!!

  15. 16 Clare Brown
    June 29, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    Oh, you are so gorgeous! I loved reading all of your answers!! Fabulous blog, girlie!

  16. June 29, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    youuu my lovely, are the sweetest thing!!!!

    thank you so much for tagging me! i actually never do the tag thingies but because it is you i’m going to do it ! haha MWA

    i’m not a dessert or cake person EITHER! hooray! but i do love this thing i get. it’s a passionfruit shape, with passionfruit ice cream covered with a hard coat of chocolate – YUMMO

    kisses from sydney!

    xxxxxx

  17. June 29, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    Hey Becs! Thanks for tagging me, it looks fun so I will get to it soon, yay! Those shoes are so lust worthy!!

  18. June 30, 2009 at 1:29 am

    Thanks for the lovely comment on my blog hehe. You are gorgeous, I love your blog!!!!!

    Love your huge sunnies and black bubble dress, love that purple vest with pink skirt so so so much and that black bandeau dress with blazer arghh!!

    Exchange links?

    Lauren
    smartscruffyfashion

  19. June 30, 2009 at 2:06 am

    Congrats on your chicisimo feature! And what a fun Q&A… I can’t believe you don’t like desserts 😉 But I did also used to get ice-cream cakes… best invention ever.

  20. June 30, 2009 at 4:33 am

    hello gorgeous,

    so glad you were finally able to answer the tags! i enjoyed reading your answers.. especially your hair tip! truth be told you have one of the most covetable hair in the blogosphere. no kidding!

    and ooh.. an award from antoine. kudos! you are both fabulous.:)

    much love

    eden

  21. June 30, 2009 at 5:55 am

    awesome interview. i love looking at your pics, with your tiny frame and luscious hair, you look like such a doll!

    – nadia

  22. 23 Adela
    June 30, 2009 at 6:18 am

    happy birthday! love all the outfits, especially the 2nd one! =)

    http://pinkchampagnefashion.blogspot.com/

  23. June 30, 2009 at 6:58 am

    Hi Becs!
    It’s so nice to read the interview. you have a fan here. I never eat cake on my birthday, just vanilla Oreo ice-cream cake. It’s family’s tradition, we all love ice-cream cake for BDay.

    I always love the way you dress. It suite you very well!!

    Belate happy birthday!!!

    Hanh,

  24. June 30, 2009 at 6:58 am

    Hi there-fabulous post, its great to know that bit more about you and your likes and dislikes! Wishing you a good week my dear!

  25. June 30, 2009 at 7:41 am

    Congrats on Chicismo! I love those lovely ladies over there!

    And I’m right with you with the sweet tooth! We’ll have our birthday cake tomorrow- and it just might be icecream cake too 😉

    ps- OHMYLORD- you’re hair dries like that?! It’s gorgeous and I’m jealous 😉

  26. June 30, 2009 at 8:40 am

    i love the list!

    really cute with the monkey

  27. June 30, 2009 at 9:33 am

    you look so stylish. great post.

  28. June 30, 2009 at 9:41 am

    Such a fun tag, darling! Love all your answers and pics! Those Jeffrey Campbell boots rock! And I love that one of your hobbies is dancing ~ how fabulous!

    Congrats on your feature, too!

    xoxox,
    CC

  29. June 30, 2009 at 10:02 am

    i’m so afraid to see “my sister’s keeper” because i know i’m going to cry so hard. i definitely share shoe crushes with you!!

  30. 31 Tamara
    June 30, 2009 at 10:15 am

    Love that outfit with the blue jacket! 🙂

  31. June 30, 2009 at 10:17 am

    Congratulations, that’s fantastic. And those wang boots are killer!

  32. June 30, 2009 at 10:30 am

    I adore all ur boots collections! The Jeffrey Campbell Biz Belted Booties sold out so fast that i didn’t even have a chance to make my order!!
    U look gorgeous in the B&W outfits! ❤

  33. June 30, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    love your fav shoes 🙂

  34. June 30, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    Wow! congrats dear!
    I love all of your outfits, you look amazing! ❤
    and thanks for your comment! I added you to my links, I love your style,

    xxx

  35. 36 ak
    June 30, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    great ans. and congrats on the feature. thank goodness the good weather is back.
    xx

  36. June 30, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    great outfit at the top…your style is really good!! and for the AW boots i’ve jsut order them at brown focus… your so right their litterally the best 🙂

    xx

  37. June 30, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    Those Alexander Wang boots are to die for!

    bisous,
    La C.

  38. June 30, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    thanks for your lovely comment beautiful! mwa

  39. June 30, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    Great tag, thanks so much for tagging me. Hopefully I can do this soon and deliver as good answers as you did!
    XOXOXO
    Libby
    http://fashionconfectionairy.weebly.com

  40. June 30, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    congrats on being featured! you deserve it 🙂 and i really do admire your style so thanks for all the great pics in this post!

    xx
    http://ohsohipithurts.blogspot.com/

  41. July 1, 2009 at 9:24 am

    I think oversized cardigans/sweaters are always a good choice.

    Btw, love the photo with the gorilla/monkey. *

  42. July 1, 2009 at 11:58 am

    Congrats on your feature!
    And such fun tag! I really enjoyed reading your answers! ANd you look gorgeous on every photo, how do you do that?:D :**

  43. July 1, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    Ice cream cake is the best isn’t it? That’s funny, I don’t comb my hair either!

  44. 45 maria
    July 1, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    Where is that bandeau black and white dree from i luv it u look smoking pls tell me i have to have it thanks

    • 46 becs
      July 1, 2009 at 1:27 pm

      Hi Maria! It’s actually a long strapless top from Guess that I pulled down to wear as a dress (just for that pic). I usually wear it as a top/tunic with leggings. Unfortunately, I got it a few years ago. Thanks for your comment!

  45. July 1, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    Congrats on the feature and your award… so deserving! And this is such a great post, loving your favorite things and all the fabulous outfits!

  46. July 1, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    Those Jeffrey Campbell booties are so fabulous!

  47. July 1, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    YOUR SHOES ARE TO DIE FOR …the black buckle flat boots. …love.

  48. July 1, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    becs luv you are just beyond gorgeous inside and out. Congrats on the feature and congrats on the awards and tag. Well deserved 🙂

    xxx

  49. July 1, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    First time I’m stopping by, and I must say…really liked reading up on your favorites.

    You have great taste in shoes. And I love your hair, do you dye it?

    • 52 becs
      July 2, 2009 at 10:30 am

      Hi, thanks for stopping by! Yes, I get my hair dyed professionally.. it’s naturally black. Thanks for your comment!

  50. July 1, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    Hi Becs! I’m so glad to be back, just catching up on some of your amazing outfit posts from the past weeks. Happy belated birthday btw! You and your sis looked stunning – same gorgeous warm smile and great taste 🙂

    Congrats on the awards and features, I predict many more to come!

    P.S. we crave the same shoes lol.

  51. July 2, 2009 at 4:51 am

    Quotes is a really interesting thing to collect. Happy belated birthday-love the cake 🙂

    and one of my favorite things is also dessert!! 😀

    xox, mavi

  52. July 2, 2009 at 5:46 am

    Your hair is super nice and I love that blue jacket..=)

    -Mads
    http://www.fashionisthebestmedicine.blogspot.com

  53. July 2, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    omg that Alexander Wang triple buckle boots are freaking amazing!!!

  54. July 6, 2009 at 10:24 am

    i really enjoyed this post becs! YOu are sooo gorgeous!!

  55. 58 ary
    August 17, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    Sway is such a great song.


Leave a Reply

About Style with Benefits

Photobucket
Photobucket

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Memories

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
©2009 - 2010 Style with Benefits. All rights reserved. Personal pictures may be used, but permission must be granted first. Please email stylewithbenefits@gmail.com and credit this site. Thank you.
wordpress visitor counter

