18
Dec
09

Change is my best friend

Billabong vest via Swell.com. Urban Outfitters blazer & skirt. American Apparel tee. Varga necklace. Steve Madden shoes

Inspired by this post from the fabulous Alixrose regarding how to spruce up your everyday blazer look, I decided to throw on my gray suede-like fringe Billabong vest over a cropped UO blazer.  I’m a fan of layering vests under blazers, but I’ve never tried wearing one over them.

Conclusion: I like the look.  It’s a simple fix to transform your typical blazer ensemble.

BTW, when most people are dying their hair darker for the winter, I decide I want to go lighter.  Always a constant in my life that makes things exciting, Change is definitely one of my best friends.

Have a fabulous weekend!  xo, Becs

33 Responses to “Change is my best friend”


  1. December 18, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    Thanks so much for the shout out! Also the vest over the blazer, LOVE IT. I also adore the fact that the vest has fringe and that you can totally pull it off.
    I so want to dye my hair that color but my fraidy cat side wont let me. It looks great on you!

  2. December 18, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Mmmh Actually this silhouette reminds me . . . a “BOMBnextDoor-esque Gossip Girl escaped from the City of Angels ” !!! AND I say an Astounding YES FOR the DIY-ing hair, as scrumptious as structuring !!!!

    à Bientôt, Antoine

  3. December 18, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    nice idea. you look fantastic(as alwaYs) i just love the blazer. and your haircoLour is lovely. xxxxx

  4. December 18, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    Your hair looks great! What a great way to go again the regular “thoughts”!
    Also love the necklace (gorgeous) and the gold watches or bracelets.
    Overall you look supercute!
    X, fashionnerdic.

  5. December 18, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    hey babe! i love this look. will definitely try a fur vest over my blazer. i’ve been doing that with my leather jacket so why not?! i love the hair color on you, i went lighter for winter too hehe. can’t resist the chemical fumes in hair dye right? anyway love your outfit as usual, you look hot!

    • 6 becs
      December 18, 2009 at 4:00 pm

      Hi love! OMG, my stylist used bleach this time and my scalp was on fire! I just bit my tongue and tried not to think about my burning scalp. Oh the things we do for our hair. 🙂 xoxo, Becs

  6. December 18, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    I love that your hair matches the wood in these pics! Rad layering- always love that AA t-shirt- so comfy! xo

  7. December 18, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    Love the look too… great idea.

  8. December 19, 2009 at 7:35 am

    LOVE your new red hair and the outfit! You look amazing! Especially love that skirt! Very cute! :]

  9. December 19, 2009 at 11:56 am

    i LOVE your vest!!
    xx

  10. December 19, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    I’m so in love with your hair.

  11. December 19, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    Your hair is amazing! and I love the skirt 😉

  12. December 19, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    Love the lighter hair! You look gorgeous! The vest over a blazer idea is def refreshing. I love how you styled it here.

  13. December 19, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    The red looks gorgeous on you Becs!

  14. December 19, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    Awesome outfit! That’s such a cool idea to do with your blazer, I want to try it out myself now! Your hair makes you look so different! At least now we will all be able to easily tell you and your sis apart 🙂

  15. December 20, 2009 at 7:46 am

    Hey there. I hope you’re having a good weekend. It’s been cold and rainy here. Our internet keeps going out so I did want to leave a comment on your blog. Take care. Have a great week. Cheers!

  16. December 20, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    aww you look so darn cute! i love this so much and the navy colour that is the PERFECT colour i sear!

    hope you’re keeping warm love and hope you and your sister have a wonderful holiday!! xo

  17. December 20, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    Nope, not from LA. I’m originally from the Bay Area but I moved to nor-nor cal to go to school so I bounce back between the two. And I really like your skirt in this post!

    -Janet from FashionAntics.blogspot.com

  18. December 20, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    Hey Becs!! I love your eye-popping skirt! I’m thinking of getting a haircut similar to yours and my natural hair is dark so I want to go a little lighter. My bf has been bugging me to get a new haircut and I’m going to get it before New Year’s! xxooxxooxox

  19. December 21, 2009 at 2:50 am

    Love this outfit! You always look stunning!

  20. December 21, 2009 at 5:08 am

    U look stunning!! It totally suits you! Hope u had a great weekend xoxo

  21. December 21, 2009 at 10:41 am

    Sandals with socks is such an awesome look; makes for a comfy and chic LA winter!

    And I’m loving the hair! It’s exotic without being over-the-top.

  22. December 21, 2009 at 11:38 am

    OMGGGGGG. BECS, I LOVE YOUR HAIR! you do know abouy my ginger/auburn obsession, right? this pretty much revives it from hibernation…love itttt.

    hope you have a fab holiday my dear!
    Raez

  23. December 21, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    Hi honey love the waistcoat,the fringing is great!! hope you are well Becs. that is a gorge skirt too
    xx
    marian.

  24. December 21, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    The new hair looks great on you! Your outfit is chic as usual. 🙂

    http://wheredoyoushop.blogspot.com/

  25. December 21, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    Becs, you’re my hero! If I still had hair, I’d so change it right now! lol

    +8!3

  26. 28 Tamara
    December 22, 2009 at 1:18 am

    Nice new colour, Becs, beautiful 🙂 And the vest over the blazer was a great idea!
    xo

  27. 29 Clare
    December 22, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    Sooo cute, Becs! I love your new hair, too!

  28. December 22, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    I love the new hair!!! You look so great!

  29. December 23, 2009 at 1:04 am

    Agreed with everyone, love ur hair and the tone suits u well! I hope u have a great X’mas and a Happy New Year! :>

  30. December 23, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    I absolutely love this outfit!!

  31. December 25, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    wow i love your hair! happy holidays love!


Leave a Reply

About Style with Benefits

Photobucket
Photobucket

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Memories

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
©2009 - 2010 Style with Benefits. All rights reserved. Personal pictures may be used, but permission must be granted first. Please email stylewithbenefits@gmail.com and credit this site. Thank you.
wordpress visitor counter

