04
Jan
10

“I’d rather shop the men’s department.”

American Apparel t-shirt. H&M pants. Urban Outfitters hat & suspenders. Vintage Justin Roper boots

Here’s my pseudo menswear-inspired look, complete with fishnet stockings.  Ironically, a few of my favs were quoted in the February issue of Teen Vogue about their tomboy style.

“So much of pulling off the tomboy look is about confidence.” – Alexa Chung

“I like oversize anything — I’d rather shop the men’s department.”  – Erin Wasson

“My fashion sense comes from my father. He was always a very stylish man.”  – Chloe Sevigny

aMEN!

53 Responses to ““I’d rather shop the men’s department.””


  1. 2 Tamara
    January 4, 2010 at 3:18 am

    Right, it’s all about self-confidence in here! 😉 I’ve been doing it lately, shopping the men’s deparment, and it’s been quite funny… Happy New Year, Becs!
    xo

  2. January 4, 2010 at 8:04 am

    The hat completes the look. You can definitely pull it off 🙂

  3. January 4, 2010 at 8:23 am

    Love the hat and the pants!!!
    You can definitely pull this look off.
    X, fashionnerdic.

  4. January 4, 2010 at 8:25 am

    Ps. happy new year to you too!
    Hope you have a great one dear!
    Xoxox

  5. 7 Nia
    January 4, 2010 at 9:24 am

    You rock this look girl! Love it!

  6. January 4, 2010 at 9:41 am

    oh, I love this so much! especially the suspenders, sexy and masculine!
    Happy New Year, Becs!
    xo

  7. January 4, 2010 at 10:30 am

    Menswear is the superior wear. You look so chic and unique! This is probably one of my favorite looks of yours. Actually, not probably. Definitely. I’m saving these photos in my inspiration folder 🙂

  8. January 4, 2010 at 11:27 am

    Yes. Menswear for girls is the best. Love the hat and suspenders. Hats on girls FTW!

  9. January 4, 2010 at 11:28 am

    Seeing you in suspenders just reminded me of Dapper Kid’s (http://dapperkid.blogspot.com/) most recent post. Excellent blend of pieces…the fishnets make the whole outfit for me. 🙂

    +8!3

  10. January 4, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    You look fabulous Becs!! I love the way you wore your straps on the pants!! So chic! I know we have the same Topshop dress (because we’re both Topshop fanatics, aren’t we :-P?) and I was actually inspired by you to wear the gloves because you wore the black ones if I remembered correctly :-)!

    Happy New Year 2010 to you too!! I know this is going to be the best yet! xxooxoxoxoxoxoxo

    • 14 becs
      January 12, 2010 at 8:44 pm

      Yes, I love that Topshop dress! You rocked it. I actually wore it with fishnet sleeves from Free People. It’s sexy without being over the top!

      xo, Becs

  11. January 4, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    You pull this off beautifully, Becs! I love how you do menswear without the blazer as well- that’s usually the way I go about it, but I think that is a little overdone.

    Hope you and Mel have a wonderful New Year too! Happy 2010!
    xoxo,
    Lar

  12. January 4, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    i am feeling pants– you have no idea how much! it’s not only the chilly weather around these parts– it’s just a non-overtly sexy albeit sexy look. i love the way you did a jaunty assymmetrical suspender thing.

    happy new year to you!

    xx D

  13. January 4, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    I’ve been shopping in the men’s department for years, hahaha. They have the best fits when it comes to things like t-shirts/shirts ect. Im a big fan :))

  14. 18 lightingtheweb
    January 4, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    what cute pics

  15. January 4, 2010 at 11:43 pm

    I love your pants and your boots are sooo great. Can I borrow them? haha xox

  16. January 5, 2010 at 12:56 am

    Hi Becs! I hope you had a great time in SF! I bought 2 items from Held Over. I was in a certain phase when vintage shopping for some reason. Everything that I bought were asian inspired..haha. I got this kimono and a chinoiserie dress from the 60s. I’ll do a post about it soon 🙂

    btw, I love your menswear outfit!

  17. January 5, 2010 at 1:41 am

    I love shopping in the men’s department and I also love raiding my boy’s closets. I think I was a boy in my past life. LOL

    You look awesome, those pants are fabulous. And the boots, I DIE. Love it. 🙂

  18. January 5, 2010 at 8:58 am

    those pants look super cute on you xo

  19. January 5, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    you look amazing!!
    love those pants and everything else
    i knew the last quote hahah
    but i didnt know the other 2
    oh gosh i love chloe!!!

  20. 25 Clare
    January 5, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    love this look!! You are so adorable 🙂

    And I also got my fashion sense from my dad! Whew he is SUCH a good dresser. It makes me jealous!

  21. January 6, 2010 at 7:04 am

    Mmmh So Dear Becs, About your last comment on “stilettostetico”, I (very very very shyly) would love to see a “with your Victoria’s Secret finery Only” picture of you in the (scorching) style of Jaraaaaaaaaah (“Beads of sweat”) . . . OR Now Keeleeeeeeeeey (“RE-Beads of sweat”) !!!!

    à Bientôt, Antoine

  22. January 6, 2010 at 9:38 am

    AMAZING! I love the pants with the boots!!

  23. January 6, 2010 at 11:41 am

    So sexy, darling Becs!

    Happy New Year!

    xoxox,
    CC

  24. January 6, 2010 at 11:51 am

    dear. i gotta say- you have the most beautiful smile-
    and this outfit is cool. i dig the tee so much. looks comfy.
    gonna check out the rest of your posts now- and im back from hiatus 🙂

  25. January 6, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    Hey Becs!! Thank you for the sweet comment!! I know, I haven’t been shopping at Topshop either but I have my eye on a couple of things and I hope they don’t sold out! Do you have a feeling that Topshop is getting a little pricier or it’s still the same? There’s this pair of shorts I want and it’s $70.00 and then the pants I want is also $70.00 so with shipping, it’s like $150.00! For just two items of clothing! It’s so hard to resist Topshop and I usually give in but sometimes I wish their prices are a little lower. xxooxoxoxoxxo

  26. January 6, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    You look great but most of all I like your smile 🙂

    xoxo

    A PIECE OF PASSION

  27. January 6, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    Why have I just found your fab blog NOW! Your outfits are sooooo inspiring! I always shop at the men’s department too!

  28. January 6, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    i totally feel u on this! loving the menswear look!

  29. January 6, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    I too would rather shop the men’s department – there’s always some hidden treasure buried there for the fashionista to find! Loving these photographs of you – your style is phenomenal!! 🙂

  30. January 6, 2010 at 11:41 pm

    You killed it with those fabulous suspenders. Love love love!

  31. January 6, 2010 at 11:44 pm

    Becs – I dont know how you pulled off those pants. I tried them on once and I laughed at myself. Love the way you wore the braces, always good to mix it up.
    Hope your new year has been going great!

  32. January 7, 2010 at 2:06 am

    Hi there-this is a gorgeous look and I so love those trousers and boots!! Happy New Year to you!!

  33. January 7, 2010 at 4:12 am

    I agree with u there!! U look amazing!! Have a stunning day : ) xx

  34. January 7, 2010 at 5:24 am

    beloved becs, how are you?! i know its been quite awhile. yeah, i took quite a break from blogging. but i hope you candrop by soon enough, i certainly did miss your blog!

    looking effortless and fantastic, and hope you have a rocking 2010!

    ❤ ya
    eden

  35. January 7, 2010 at 7:07 am

    Awesome look! There’s nothing sexier than a gal donning men’s clothes (or menswear inspired clothes). Those suspenders are a great idea, especially making them cross body the way you did. I was actually thinking of getting a pair to match pin striped pants. And I recently also read that more and more women are shopping in men’s departments which has lead to menswear being made available in smaller sizes. Supposedly menswear is better quality and has a more classic cut, which is why it’s become so popular.

    Happy New Year by the way!

  36. January 7, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    You go girl!! Menswear has never looked this good, or sexy for that matter! Happy new year to you too, hope 2010 will be a fantastic one for you 😀

    xx Marcella

  37. 44 aspireforhigher
    January 7, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    Bold yet playful and cute. I dig it!

  38. January 8, 2010 at 11:13 am

    You are………ADORABLE 🙂
    that very first photo is priceless!!

    happy 2010

    xx

  39. 46 K8
    January 8, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    I totally feel the same way as Ms. Wasson….I love this look very creative use of suspenders.

    Fashion X K8.blogspot

  40. January 8, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    love love love love looooooooooooove this!!

  41. January 9, 2010 at 6:34 am

    Love both the look and the pictures. You look so cute. =)
    (BTW – I color my hair too, and WEN’s FIG is recommended for those who have color-treated hair)

  42. January 9, 2010 at 10:47 am

    I LOVE both outfits!!! LF is one of my fave spots their clothes are so unique!!! And you totally rock this men’s wear style with elegance and confidence. A great smile is best accessory!
    I also love your sister’s blog too!

    xo
    http://mandalyzing.blogspot.com

    • 50 becs
      January 12, 2010 at 8:47 pm

      Thanks Amanda! Yes, LF is pretty amazing. It’s close to where I live which is a double bonus. Thanks for your sweet comments!

      xo

  43. January 11, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    Wow I love how you placed the suspenders on one side! I def would never have thought of that and it works out so well too!

  44. January 12, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    This look I love. Keep up the bad work….


Leave a Reply

About Style with Benefits

Photobucket
Photobucket

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Memories

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
©2009 - 2010 Style with Benefits. All rights reserved. Personal pictures may be used, but permission must be granted first. Please email stylewithbenefits@gmail.com and credit this site. Thank you.
wordpress visitor counter

