20
Jan
10

Let’s get to the point

H&M sweater. Mel’s California Select/American Apparel cropped top. Urban Outfitters high-waisted jeans. Vintage shoes

Mel was always the creative writer between the two of us.  She has a way with words that I secretly, or not so secretly now, have always envied.  We had the same 7th grade English teacher who distinguished our writing by saying that Mel had a more descriptive writing style while I wrote to the point.  Back then, I wondered if this was a good or bad thing.

Well, getting to the point, let me just say that…

I like pretty things.  I like rugged things.  I love to dance.  But I need a crowd around me.  Then I will get down.  Not to the floor.  Anymore.  That was in college and is another story.  I like to go shopping.  Obvi.  But I can’t stand to spend more than 20 minutes in a store.  Unless it’s huge and has more than two floors.  I just know what I want.  I like to go flea marketing. I suck at bargaining.  Must improve on playing hard to get.

I’m polite, say thank you and always hold the door open for people. Elevators are a different story.  Sorry.  If you’re more than six feet away, I’m the one furiously pushing the close button so I can be the lone rider.  I hate elevator awkwardness.  It’s mostly the uncomfortable silence.  When I get excited I talk to strangers.  This happens when I go shopping.  Not in elevators.  I hate ass kissing.  But then again, who does?  Actually, maybe you do.  Wink, nudge, wink.

“Life is all about ass… You’re either covering it, kicking it, kissing it, or trying to get it.”

I like kicking ass.  Not literally.  But in life.  I mean, I’m a petite girl who doesn’t work out.  Regularly.  I always cover my ass.  With a long shirt or sweater.  See above.  I’m modest like that.  Or maybe it’s because my ass is flatter than yours.  OK, I’m over asses.  Literally and figuratively.  I like vanilla scents, but not things that are ‘vanilla’.  Are you picking up what I’m putting down? Variety is the spice of life.  I prefer oversized to tight clothes, which are restrictive. To my ass.  Like a wise person once said:

“I know it sounds mental, but sometimes I have more fun vegging out than when I go partying. Maybe it’s because my party clothes are so binding.”

Oh Cher from “Clueless”, you speak the truth.  Two years ago, I ran/walked the LA Marathon.  Without training.  And finished.  Without collapsing.  It only took 7.5 hours.  Who does that?  Me.  And Mel.  Who decided to sprint to the finish line with 200 meters left and leave my ass behind.  Traitor.  We ordered custom-made t-shirts to wear during race day.  Yes, we are those chicks.  My shirt was camo print.  The front read, “26.2 miles” and on the back, “Been there, done that.”  Call me optimistic.  A little boy on the side of the road yelled to me as I passed, “Go Army. We thank you!”  Oh hi camo shirt.  You must be in the army.  Best memory ever.  Besides crossing the finish line.

“Be all that you can be.”

I like to joke around.  I like to fool around.  Yeaaah.  I’m terribly sarcastic and like when people can hang.  Ten.  Surfers are my weakness.  Living in LA helps.  At least it’s not the Jersey Shore.  Hey, I’m from JerseyFist pump.  When I was in Hawaii, I took surfing lessons.  After wiping out so many times I pleaded with the instructor to bring me back to shore.  He refused.  Thought I could try one more time.  I wiped out.  For the 10th time.  Ass.  Told you life was all about ass(es).

“Whatever doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.”

Did I mention I’m sometimes a walking contradiction?

Thanks for reading my randomness, which was conceived at 4am.

xoxo

41 Responses to “Let’s get to the point”


  1. January 20, 2010 at 9:07 am

    this is hilarious and so sweet. love that you said that you have a flat ass – mine always has been too, but cycling will plump it up (whether you want it to or not). i seriously adore your blog. p.s do you still have the camo t-shirt? xx

  2. January 20, 2010 at 9:48 am

    Hahaha! I can relate… I love oversized clothes because of my flat ass… I’ve learned to camouflage my liabilities.

  3. January 20, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    I LOVE IT! You are quickly becoming cooler in my eyes.
    I’ve been waiting for this shirt to make a debut on the blog 😉 Like the way you’re working it!

    And yessss, let’s definitely get together. Dinner/drinks, thrifting in the rain, or just random picture-taking… I’m in! Tuesdays and Thursdays work best for me, but I’m willing to work with you on that 😉

    Have a great hump day!

  4. January 20, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    Love the vest! Supergorgeous color and fit!
    X, fashionnerdic

  5. January 20, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    Phenomenal outfit, darling!
    Love those jeans!

    xoxox,
    CC

  6. January 20, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    haha that was sweet, i hate awkwardness too, i hate being left alone with people i’ve just been introduced to. After a few questions theres always the part where you run out of things to say

  7. January 20, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    hey girl! sorry i havent stopped by in while, have been a little slack on the blogging front. hope you’ve been well! haha i loved how you wrote about elevator awkwardness…i just came back from holidays and we were on the 14th floor and it is always awkward riding the elevator with other ppl! i always have this urge to laugh out loud so i have to avoid eye contact with everyone until we leave the lift or someone else does. anywho thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  8. January 20, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    Becs I love that sweater! I would have never even thought to put it with that top & it looks so marvelous! It’s been so long since I have written you. I still love your blog as ever. And I can’t tell you how beautiful your hair looks, I really like that color. The thing you wrote about Mel being the better writer, I can completely relate with my sister. We all have our unique strengths.

  9. January 20, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    I’m sweet on your hair here. Love the top and the sweater as well. =)

    How are ya, Miss Becs?

    xx

  10. January 20, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    I hate elevator awkwardness sooooo much and usually I can handle awkward social situations pretty well. Go figure.

    i can’t believe you and mel did a marathon without training. I don’t think i could walk for 7.5 hour. What an accomplishment (and i’m not being sarcastic)!

  11. January 20, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    Love that floral print. Obviously because it’s mine. Aw, you envy my writing! 🙂 I envy your dancing capabilities but you already knew that. You definitely did used to get down to the floor back then. And yeahh, of course I left your ass- couldn’t let the old woman in the floppy hat and leggings that we saw on the bridge beat me to the finish line even though in my photo of the finish line she totally did beat me! Oh and you’re probably envious of my rad surfing- yeah, I know you are as I cruised while you guys went to shore 🙂 xo, Mel

  12. January 20, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    amazing I love the top! The oxfords are amazing too!!

  13. January 20, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    I think I MUST have that sweater! 🙂

  14. January 21, 2010 at 2:40 am

    I love this, the contrast of the shapes is fantastic.

  15. January 21, 2010 at 4:17 am

    It was great to read all that stuff about you! It was a pretty good text and pretty funny many times :D!
    Love your outfit!!
    xx

  16. 17 Tamara
    January 21, 2010 at 7:31 am

    Totally hate silence in elevators… because then it comes talking about the weather… Oh, no, pliiiz!
    xoxo

  17. January 21, 2010 at 7:32 am

    ah i just love your style. this is brilliant. i love the florals with the socks- everything goes so nice together- i like your playful angle of style. youre brilliant,.

    xxxxxxxx ediot

  18. January 21, 2010 at 9:44 am

    those pants are so hot!

    Love that!!!

  19. January 21, 2010 at 10:33 am

    i like to talk to strangers when i get excited and talk and talk ahha
    but hon this outfit is amazing
    i serioulsy would wear every piece in your closet
    you have such a cool taste for clothes.

    love it all!

  20. January 21, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    This blog is lovely.

    I think this girl has a wonderful sense of style and I love the knitted throwover over an otherwise summery outfit. And I just adore the crop top!

    – Anna Jane xxx
    (PixelatedBlonde.com)

  21. January 21, 2010 at 1:32 pm

    Becs!! I love your outfit and especially your jeans!! I’m thinking of getting the same haircut like you. I’m not sure if you notice but I cut my hair short because my bf has been nagging me for so long about getting a new haircut. So I did and now I miss my long hair more than ever! I’m thinking of coloring with golden highlights, what do you think?

    I love reading your post! It makes me smile! I love to dance and if we meet sometime in the future, we should totally show each other our moves! I can’t stand shopping for more than a few minutes in the store either; that’s why I always shop online! xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo

  22. 23 Brianne
    January 21, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    Hi Becs, I’ve been reading for awhile but this is my first comment. I just had to say I loooved this post, I really admire how your sense of humor shows so much in your writing 🙂 I feel lame to admit it but just this week I was searching for that exact quote from Clueless to use as a facebook status…Lmao but I couldn’t find it anywhere so thanks for refreshing my memory! 😉

    • 24 becs
      January 21, 2010 at 7:24 pm

      Hi Brianne! Thanks so much for reading and your sweet comment. Yes, this is how my brain works in the early morning hours. And I also love that Clueless quote… it’s so true! 🙂 xo, becs

  23. 25 Clare
    January 21, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    great jeans! awesome randomness and i cannot believe you ran a marathon that is AWESOME!

    http://www.clarabelleblog.com

  24. January 21, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    hi darling. to reply to your comment. thanks for the congrats on my degree- im so utterly thrilled nobody can imagine the joy im feeling about it.. and the hair- well i my love extensions.. its so much fun. to just clip on and off.. if i dont have an idea about what to wear when going out. i put on whatever and add the hair- and im good to go 🙂
    thanks for visiting me
    xx

  25. January 21, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    This 4am randomness kicks ASS!
    I was nodding with you through this whole thing. The only thing is I wear long shirts to cover my big ass. I was born with it, so am living with it.
    Love the army story and wow I cant believe you did the marathon with no training, props to you!

    Love this outfit post, Ive been wearing the rolled up jeans with funky socks lately. I like it and you rock it!

  26. January 21, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    love love! the floral is perfect! and i lvoe the cuffed up idea:)

    xx raez

  27. January 21, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    love the cropped top!

  28. January 24, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    I think I may be the definition of elevator awkwardness…

  29. January 24, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    You look adorable. Just mere thought of running 26 miles makes me feel weak at the knees already. Good for you!

  30. 34 jessica
    January 24, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    Loving the jeans on you. So cute and the big sweater on top of that print. Love the inspiration!

    Have a Sunday Funday 😀

    ♡,
    Jessica

  31. January 25, 2010 at 5:40 am

    Luv ur sweater and I luved ur post soo much hun!! : ) xx

  32. January 25, 2010 at 6:44 am

    I’m loving the flowered top. Really cute prints.

  33. January 25, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    i really enjoyed reading this.
    i wish i could write like you. i really wish. i’m not cute or funny, just cheesy. but oh well.
    anyway, thank you for sharing about yourself, annnnd…
    you have AAAmazing hair.

  34. January 27, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    The top looks a lot like the dresses Marc has been putting out lately. Great look again…..


Leave a Reply

About Style with Benefits

Photobucket
Photobucket

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Memories

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
©2009 - 2010 Style with Benefits. All rights reserved. Personal pictures may be used, but permission must be granted first. Please email stylewithbenefits@gmail.com and credit this site. Thank you.
wordpress visitor counter

